#music · Uncategorized

The Pretty Reckless

Here we go, my first proper blog post. I thought I’d kick things off with a concert that I went to recently – The Pretty Reckless at O2 ABC Glasgow on the 23rd of January.

Firstly I’d like to apologise for the awful picture quality. In future I’ll make sure to take better pictures, but at the time I didn’t know I was going to need pictures for a blog post so all of these are actually just screenshots from videos I took, sorry!

These days I feel quite comfortable calling myself a relatively avid concert goer but this was, without a doubt, one of the best concerts I have ever been to (and I’ve been to a fair few)!

16559061_1426905457320747_551561967_n-2

For anyone who’s a fan of The Pretty Reckless and is interested, the set list was as follows:

  • Follow Me Down
  • Since You’re Gone
  • Oh My God
  • Hangman
  • Make Me Wanna Die
  • My Medicine
  • Prisoner
  • Sweet Things
  • Light Me Up
  • Who You Selling For
  • Just Tonight
  • Living In The Storm
  • Heaven Knows
  • Going To Hell
  • Take Me Down
  • Fucked Up World

Personally I thought this was an amazing set-list. They’re currently touring their album Who You Selling For so there were plenty of exciting new songs but all perfectly interwoven with their old, nostalgic hits. The crowd went wild at the first note of every song and all the lyrics were chanted back in unison with the band. It’s safe to say the atmosphere was amazing!

16652528_1426905310654095_278158407_n-2

The bass was loud and reverberated throughout the venue, there were frequent dramatic guitar solos and catchy riffs and Taylor Momsen’s voice was raspy, crackling perfection! It was so good in fact that the two or so hours passed in what felt like half an hour, and I was left thinking about the concert for days afterwards. If The Pretty Reckless ever returns to Scotland, or even the UK, I’ll be one of the first to snatch up a ticket!

16683135_1426905443987415_742899837_n-2

I think one of my favourite things about the concert was its unchoreographed, free spirited nature. You could feel the band’s passion for their music and performing. It’s always far more enjoyable as an audience member when you can tell the band are also enjoying what they’re doing!

16652828_1426905383987421_101358224_n-2

To round off this post I think I’ll mention my favourite performances of the night which were: My Medicine, Light Me Up, Who You Selling For, Just Tonight, Going To Hell and Take Me Down (so about half of the concert by the looks of it). I think Light Me Up will always be one of my favourite albums, but The Pretty Reckless have always exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait for their return.

Until next time,

J x

P.s If you haven’t heard of The Pretty Reckless or any of the songs mentioned above, go listen to them! You won’t be disappointed!

5 thoughts on “The Pretty Reckless

    1. Awesome! I’m sure that’ll be great fun I absolutely love going to concerts. Something about hearing the artist live is just super exciting. You should give The Pretty Reckless a listen, try Light Me Up I think that’s probably their most accessible album xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

