Food · Uncategorized

Quick Restaurant Reviews: Hanoi Bike Shop

I think I’m going to start a little series on my blog called, as the title would suggest, Quick Restaurant Reviews. I am somebody who, I’m sure you’ll come to realise, LOVES food. I love cooking, eating, restaurants and all kinds of different cuisines. I also live in Glasgow which has so many amazing cafes, restaurants and bars. So it seems only right that I talk about some of the cool places I’ve gone to eat!

The first place I’m going to talk about is the Hanoi Bike Shop on Ruthven Lane. Ruthven Lane is a pretty alleyway just off of the main street Byres Road. With fairy lights, restaurants and even a music shop hidden round corners it’s a super interesting place to have a stroll around! The first place you see when you turn on to the lane is the Hanoi Bike Shop, and it’s also the first thing you’ll smell too!

Contrary to what the name suggests this cute little nook is not somewhere you bring your bike to get fixed, but a vibrant Vietnamese eating extravaganza! I’ve lived in Glasgow for almost two years now and it’s taken me waaay too long to eat here. Seriously, if you’re ever in Glasgow and like Asian food GO EAT HERE!

The atmosphere is buzzing and the restaurant in general is bustling with waiters as it is designed to feel like an authentic Vietnamese street food experience. I personally really enjoyed the atmosphere even though it bordered on a little loud sometimes, I think that’s the way it’s meant to be!

17198811_1454608464550446_1903390350_n (2)

Onto the food. Me and two friends ordered a noodle soup (or Pho) dish each and a couple of sides to share. This worked out to be plenty for us and, surprisingly for a first try, we enjoyed everything we ordered! The noodle soups worked out at around the £9 mark, which for a main is relatively standard I’d say. Not cheap but not ridiculous!

17198248_1455439131134046_910813032_n

(Photo credit goes to Gaby Lemin (Alt-G), she’s awesome go have a wee gander at her blog! https://shutupgab.wordpress.com/ )

As you can see the soups were pretty impressive! They tasted absolutely amazing and honestly I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this place since we went!

Along with the soups we ordered a side of cauliflower and chilli fritters for £5.65 which were honestly TO DIE FOR! If I wasn’t sold on this place already (which i was) those fritters were enough to have me back for more.

17160743_1454608534550439_428083783_n (2)

They came with a sweet chilli dip and a bed of salad and honestly, they look good but they tasted out of this world!

We also ordered Kimchi for £2.65 which we all tried and enjoyed but I’d imagine is quite an acquired taste? The great thing about this place is you can try loads of different sides though so I say just go for it!

Potentially the only drawback of the Hanoi Bike Shop that I can think of is the fact that there’s no cutlery on the tables other than chop sticks and a small spoon. Luckily for me I have been taught how to use chopsticks before and managed to work with them but I’d imagine for some there would be the awkward “can I have a fork please?” scenario. No judgement, certainly not from me anyway!

17198026_1454608497883776_607197022_n (2)

Well that’s me for this blog post. As you can see I’m VERY enthusiastic about this restaurant. I think partly because most places selling Asian cuisine aren’t very authentic, so this was a really special find to me 🙂 please comment below and let me know if you have any similar places where you live. I’d love to know in case I visit one day!

Until next time,

J x

http://hanoibikeshop.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/HBSmenus-NOV-2016.pdf

4 thoughts on “Quick Restaurant Reviews: Hanoi Bike Shop

Leave a Reply

