Beauty · Life · Lifestyle · Makeup · Uncategorized

Spring Highlighters

Hey! Sorry I’ve taken a bit of a break from blogging just because I was finishing up with exams and then after that I’ve basically been sleeping and/or seeing my friends and actually having some fun! The weather has, surprisingly, been really quite nice up here the past few weeks though and it’s got me in the mood to wear my makeup a little differently. One of my absolute favourite makeup items is highlighter, so I thought I’d review a couple of the ones I own today.

The first real highlighter I ever bought was:

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle £24.50 (Link here!)

I absolutely love this product because it has a natural, peachy, pearly shimmer and catches the light very nicely without being too intense (although is that really a thing?)

mac soft and gentle highlight

This is what it looks like on (apologies for the messy bed spread). Also, side note, it’s really hard to get highlight to show up in a picture without piling it on! This was the best one I could get but as you can see it gives you quite a nice glow 🙂

My most recent “purchase” (I ordered it and it never showed up so I got a refund and then it magically came through my door, don’t tell!) was:

Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette £10.00 (Link here!).

This is my favourite of the moment, not only is it significantly cheaper than the Mineralize Skin Finish, you get four different shades! There are three powders and one cream highlight, so surely it’s all you could need? My favourite is the peachy shade in the bottom right of the palette. It has quite a high shine and I love the way it looks on!

Again it was difficult to get the highlight to show up in pictures but this was my best attempt. All of the shades in the palette has a similar level of shine. The cream was obviously more dewy and natural looking so would be great for a hot day.

18554879_1534458943232064_1256328720_n

I swatched each other shades on my hand, the far left is the MAC and the rest are from the Sleek palette.

I also own Nars Albatross, however, for me personally it comes up a little yellow on my skin (probably because I’m so pale). So it’s not one of my favourites. All three are great products though and at the end of the day it comes down to personal preference. MAC has more of a natural shimmer, Sleek a little more intense and glitz.

I hope you enjoyed this, it was just a quick one because I’m not the best at beauty posts but I thought I may as well try as I do love makeup! Please comment below telling me about your favourite makeup products and highlighters 🙂

Until next time,

J x

7 thoughts on “Spring Highlighters

Leave a Reply

