Life · Lifestyle · Travel

Bad at Spontaneity

It’s not too often that I’m spontaneous, but when I am I suck at it!

I can recall a couple of times over the past few years that I’ve been spontaneous and it’s actually gone well. One time I decided I was going to go see Ariana Grande live that weekend in Glasgow. It just so happened to coincide with my friend moving out of her flat and coming home for the summer so we went together and travelled back up to Inverness together. You could say it was a success.

Other times haven’t gone quite so well. I recently spontaneously decided to go to Amsterdam for a few nights and also bought a ticket for TRNSMT (a summer festival in Glasgow) because all my friends are going (and they’re enablers that convinced me to come). I had a great time in Amsterdam and I’m sure I will at the festival too but these split decisions have also resulted in me being at the bottom of my £600 overdraft for the past few months.

Yesterday, however, was perhaps my biggest fail at being spontaneous. My cousin and I had just signed the lease on our flat for next year (side note, it’s a lovely flat and we’re super excited!) and we went for lunch and cocktails to celebrate. Yeah I know what you’re thinking, that sounds like a nice way to spend the day? It would’ve been had we been satisfied with that. But, alas, no. We decided to go to the bus station and get on a bus somewhere, with the idea that we’d have a little walk and find a pub to have a few more drinks in. We ended up on a bus to a place called Campsie Glen.

Once we arrived in Campsie Glen we quickly realised that we’d got off at the wrong stop and basically had to walk 4 miles to the village! This really wouldn’t have been so bad had it not been pissing it down with rain and we were dressed up nicely after signing the lease which (for some reason) resulted in a few men in vans beeping their horns and shouting at us. Charming. It also would have been fine if, when we arrived in the village, the pub had been OPEN!

Yes, the pub was shut. We walked even further to another pub and walked in to the welcome of the judging stares of the locals. Also to be told that they don’t accept card and we had no cash. By this point we were both just so done. So we decided to write it off as a MASSIVE fail and get the bus back to Glasgow.

What later occurred was the consumption of a disturbing amount of alcohol, an impromptu night out and a HORRIBLE hangover today.

So there you have it. I’m a fail, no surprises there. Some good came of it though because I took some cute pictures in Campsie Glen. May as well focus on the silver lining eh?

Campsie Glen signpostCampsie Glen Aldessan Gallery and Coffee ShopCampsie Glen monumentCampsie Glen LakeCampsie Glen sheep, Cheviot sheep, Scotland
Until next time,

J x

Leave a Reply

