Music · Opinion

May Music Favourites!

I haven’t really ever done a monthly favourites post and I feel like that’s because I don’t want to commit to doing them. I don’t really have enough money to have new favourite makeup items every month and I’m massively a creature of habit. When I put my makeup on I generally reach for the same things most days. So, for lack of a better reason, it’d just be boring for you to read and is probably end up giving up!

One thing I do generally have new favourites of every month is MUSIC! I’m not promising I’ll post this every month but I’ve been inspired by some of the things I’ve listened to this past month and want to talk about them.

Not all of these songs are new but they’re just what I’ve personally been listening to this past month 🙂

Paramore – Hard Times

Paramore are one of my FAVOURITE bands and I really love their unique sound. Their latest album After Laughter does not disappoint in the SLIGHTEST! The intro to Hard Times reminds me of Ain’t it Fun in all the best ways. You can tell it’s Paramore because it doesn’t sound like anybody else! Hayley Williams’ vocals are clear and perfect as usual but what really makes the song is the instruments thy chose to use.

Lorde – Green Light

Green Light is the first single released from Lorde’s upcoming (and much anticipated) second album Melodrama. It starts out sounding quite ominous and familiar to anyone who was a fan of Pure Heroine. I initially thought it was going to turn into something like Glory and Gore, but then that catchy piano riff comes in and we’re hit with an intelligent, thoughtful and almost apocalyptic pop song.

Solange – Don’t Touch My Hair

After the cataclysmic success of Beyonce’s Lemonade in 2016 I think a lot of people were excited for Solange Knowles’ third album. It must be hard being Beyonce’s, probably the most famous pop star of our generation, sister. A Seat at the Table does not disappoint though. Lemonade is one of my favourite albums so it doesn’t quite match up to that for me (it is worth noting that they aren’t really comparable at all in terms of sound) but there are more than a few strong songs on this album. Don’t Touch My Hair showcases Solange’s beautiful voice and also her talent for subtlety.

David Bowie – Blackstar

This is an iconic song and an iconic album. The instruments and layered vocals make for a haunting listen and this is only intensified when considering the context in which it was written. If you like this song I’d highly recommend watching the music video! It’s creepy and sinister and it can be hard not to start thinking about the fact that David Bowie knew he was dying while shooting it, but around the 5:30 mark he flashes a smile at the camera and starts messing about and I found it comforting and it made me think that he had perhaps come to peace with what was happening to him (obviously that’s a lot of speculation but I like to think so).

Luis Fonsi feat Daddy Yankee (Justin Bieber remix) – Despacito 

Who hasn’t been listening to this on repeat the past few weeks? What I really love about it is that it was a breath of fresh air to me. I was happy to hear something that sounded a bit different to what I was used to. Given that it’s a predominantly Spanish song it’s pretty impressive that it reached number 1 in 37 countries! The Justin Bieber remix made it accessible to English speaking listeners but the heavy Spanish influence made it different enough to catch people’s attention.

Zara Larsson – Only You

Oh Zara. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I’ve been loving Zara Larsson’s album So Good recently. Only You is my favourite song on the album. Not because of the lyrics particularly but because of the sound. The start of the song sounds to me quite sinister and the chorus an outpouring of emotion. Or you could just focus on the line about masturbation, but I like to think there’s more to it than that 🙂

Drake – Passionfruit and Blem

Aubrey Graham needs no introduction. Find me someone who hasn’t been listening to More Life on repeat this summer? My favourites from the album are Passionfruit, the second single, and Blem. The start of Passionfruit makes me think of driving through a motorway tunnel at night with the orange streetlight coming in the window (don’t ask me why, it just does) and Blem provides me with all the sass and Aubrey realness I’ve been craving (“I need you to stop running back to your ex he’s a wasteman” case in point).

Death Grips – Get Got

I started listening to Death Grips when I was bored. I got stuck in a rut listening to the same few albums whenever I wanted to play music and I started to get sick of them and frustrated. It was time for me to seek out some new music. Death Grips were a breath of fresh air to me because they sounded different to anything else I’d listened to. Sometimes people give me an odd look when I play them but I personally love their experimental style and slightly manic sound.

Iggy Pop – Lust for life

I hardly need to say much to sell this song. It’s been a hit since it’s release in 1977. It’s catchy, instantly recognisable and screams to me of youthfulness. Iggy Pop is a legend and has too many amazing songs to count, so I don’t know why I’ve been listening to this song more this month, but I have been so it’s one of my recommendations 🙂

Well there you have it, my May music favourites. I’ve decided to put together a Spotify playlist including all of the songs I’ve mentioned and some more of my favourites from the albums they’re from. To check that out click HERE.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

J x

5 thoughts on “May Music Favourites!

    1. I’ve just realised something went wrong when saving my drafts so I accidentally uploaded an unfinished draft of this post! It’s sorted now though. Thanks for reading and commenting I appreciate it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

