Life · Lifestyle

New Flat, Diet and Summer Work

As you can tell from the title there’s fun times to be had all round here.

Uni is officially finished and as relieved as I am about that (here’s hoping I passed everything) you know the old saying, when one door closes another door opens. Except in this case it’s less “get’s rejected for a job but then finds dream job” and more “last exam is over okay now time for a few months of unrewarding work because you need the money”… “oh and it’s also time to go on a diet”.

So today was my first day at my new temporary job and, to be fair, it was actually a lot better than expected. I worked a few jobs last summer that I absolutely hated: one involved standing beside the reception desk from 9-5 every day and not being allowed to sit down or even do anything like answer the phones and another involved straightening clothes on a rack for 9 hours a day in a cold tent. So getting to sit at a desk in a large atrium and answer a variety of queries (as mundane as it may sound) is actually a vast improvement!

I have also undertaken what is possibly my biggest shift in lifestyle EVER this past few weeks. I’ve gone from eating the worst I’ve ever eaten to probably almost the best. Instead of pizzas multiple times a week I’m not having salad for lunch every day and a low calorie dinner with a LOT more exercise in between. Here’s a small sample of my new menu, not exactly instagram worthy, but maybe wordpress worthy.

healthy snack, apricots

That, my friends, is a snack I had one evening. It’s brown toast with DIABETIC JAM (i’m not diabetic, just trying to cut out sugar) and 3 apricots. Sorry for picture quality this picture was taken in the evening with only my dull lamp as lighting.

I’m really curious about what everyone else is up to this summer? Perhaps it’s a bigger change for me than most because I’m living on the academic year rather than the calendar year at the moment, so summer is really my transition time. I’m not going to keep this diet up forever, but I do want to take elements of it with me when I move back to Glasgow in September.

Speaking of which my cousin and I have secured a new flat for next year! It’s SO much nicer than the one we’re in now (aka not infested with mice) and has a large kitchen which will allow us to cook more! Here are some pictures in a snazzy little slide show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Despite not having as many friends, bars and cafes around (and not to mention less free time) being back in Inverness does have some good points. It’s bloody lovely here and I think sometimes I forget that. There’s a lot to be said for being able to walk just about anywhere and have stunning scenery all around!

inverness sunset, scotland sunset

I know this post wasn’t about anything much but I just thought I’d write a little something to signify the start of the summer 🙂

What are your plans this summer?

Until next time,

J x

Leave a Reply

