#lifestyle · Life · Lifestyle · Uncategorized

5 Reasons your Period is a Bully

You may have guessed from the title that this post isn’t particularly one for the boys. After a week that has been, for lack of a better word, testing I have a bit of a bone to pick with periods. Obviously this is all a bit tongue in cheek but here we go: 5 reasons your period is basically a total bully!

  1. It’s always there

You’re finally shot of the last hint of blood and ready to get your life back to normal. If you’re lucky you’ll have a couple weeks of freedom before the PMS starts creeping back in again! Kinda reminiscent of a bully who seems to pop up pretty much every day on the walk home from school. Obviously having a bully come after you is far more terrifying than having your period, after all you know your period is natural and, for most people, ultimately harmless but still there’s a real similarity there!

  1. It causes you pain

A bully might physically punch you, but your period targets you from the inside. Whether it’s sharp, knife like pains or dull cramps, when you’re on your period the pain is absolutely constant! For me personally, and having spoken to other girls I know I’m not the only one, bad period pains are riiiight at the top of my pain tolerance. I can’t imagine being able to cope with something more than that (*cough* childbirth).

  1. It messes with your head

Bullies tease you, mock you, insult you and turn other people against you. This aspect of bullying is in no way comparable to the way a period makes you feel. Some of the feelings you may feel as a result of these things, however, can also happen as a result of PMS. Frustration and feeling an urge to lash out at your loved ones, randomly bursting into tears and feeling weary, general exhaustion. You name it.

  1. It’s all encompassing

I don’t know about you but when I’m on my period it’s pretty much all I can think about. I remember, back in the day when I was about 12 or 13 I experienced bullying myself. It is truly horrible and it does take over your life. I would dread coming into school to the point where I became quite ill and when I’d come home it would be all I could think about then too. So having your period is obviously not as intense as this but you’re sure as hell still thinking about it all the time when it happens. Just more in an irritated “I could really do without this” way rather than being in actual fear.

  1. It ruins your self-image

There is NOTHING sexy about being on your period. You’re bloated, retaining fluid, your skin breaks out and that’s before we even consider the fact that you’ll be bleeding for a whole week. It’s not pretty. I’m sure even somebody with the best confidence probably isn’t feeling their best when they’re in the lead up to/on their period.

So my advice for when you’re on your period and just really can’t be bothered is to curl up somewhere nice and warm with a hot cup of tea or hot chocolate and something good to watch on TV (or more likely your laptop).

My advice if you’re being bullied is to confide in people you trust, tell an authority figure and if you don’t feel you can safely do that contact a local hotline for more professional advice than I can provide. But absolutely do not do NOTHING.

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons your Period is a Bully

  1. This is so true! I just got done with mine, and I am SO glad I don’t have to suffer through mine for another 3-4 weeks. And I personally think it’s a little unfair that we, as girls, have to bleed once a month until we’re in our 50s.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

