spring cosmetics haul

Spring Cosmetics Haul!

I haven’t done a post like this in a while so I thought I’d share with you some of the things I’ve bought recently! 🙂

spring cosmetics haul

So as you can see I’ve bought a few things, some more expensive than others. I don’t know about your but Spring seems to be the time when I restock everything I’ve run out of and buy a few new things for my wardrobe. It feels like the start of the year more than January to me in many ways.

I’ll start by showing you what eyebrow products I bought recently. Now I am the kind of person who is literally NEVER happy with their eyebrows. I have tried so many different products over the years and I’ll go through phases of using different things and then looking back and thinking “what the fuck was I doing” at some point. Anyway at the moment I’m using the following (check my little attempt at a gif too):

benefit brows zoeva anastasia pomade

Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade in Taupe, Benefit Gimme Brow in Light, Benefit Ready Set Brow Clear Brow Gel and Zoeva 317 Rose Gold Vol 2.

I’ve wanted to try an Anastasia brow product for so long. It was only recently I heard about the Pomade and after a short period of contemplation I gave in to the temptation and ordered one! For me the colour range was pretty poor. There’s a good mix of warm and cool tones but the actually shade range is pretty limited. Taupe is the lightest cool toned shade and I sometimes find it a bit dark on me. In fairness I am very fair and have light hair but for me this is a slight drawback. The actual product is very good though, easy to apply with precision and glides on nicely. You only need to use the tiiiniest little bit too so hopefully this product will last me a long time!

I never thing of Benefit as being one of my favourite brands but actually when I think about it they have a lot of good products that I use every day. I recently ran out of my MAC clear (not by the end it wasn’t) brow gel and needed a replacement because my brows are unruly at the best of times. I’m really glad I went for the Ready Set Brow gel because it really does set them in place and they don’t move!

As I said above I’m in a constant battle with my eyebrows and I’ve heard SO MANY good things about Benefit Gimme Brow. A few years ago I was in Boots in my hometown and you know how sometimes the people at makeup counters can be… pushy? My friend and I were literally just stood looking at the benefit stand (minding our own business) and the lady at the counter came over, whipped out her Benefit Gimme Brow and practically forcibly applied it to our eyebrows! Despite this interesting experience I actually thought the product looked pretty good. I think I’ll do a post soon on my eyebrow routine because there are quite a few steps 🙂

zoeva brushes collection lasting perfection concealer

The Zoeva (i’m sure i’m not the only one but when I first heard about this brand years ago I thought it was a Zoella brand!) brushes are great, very soft on the skin and apply product nicely and evenly. Also aren’t they just completely bloody gorgeous?! Rose gold is such an amazing trend!

The Collection Lasting Perfection concealer was a repurchase. I mean of course it was it’s the best concealer everrr. Mine is in the lightest shade and I can’t live without it. The only negative about it is sometimes I find the consistency a little thick, but I think that’s probably just a matter of opinion more than actually a shortcoming of the product.

hourglass ambient lighting, sleek solstice highlighting palette, bourjois liquid eyeliner

I’ve already raved about the Sleek Solstice Highlight palette in a recent post (if you haven’t seen it click HERE). So I won’t go into too much detail about it other than it is just absolutely gorgeous. If you’re a girl who loves an intense highlight like me (let’s be real who doesn’t) then I assure you you will love this palette!

The Bourjois Pinceau liner is also a repurchase. I used to struggle so much with eyeliner but once I found this product i can now do winged eyeliner in about 2 minutes, which I couldn’t have dreamed of doing before! Can’t see myself using a different eyeliner any time soon!

I recently bought this Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Diffused Heat for £10 on Depop. It originally costs £32 and for a second hand product that’s basically unused I think paying less than a third of the price is a pretty amazing bargain! I’d highly recommend Depop (and hey if you want to follow me find me @jbowey96). I’ve wanted to try Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Blushes for absolutely ages but they are just so extortionate. Having tried one now i can tell you that the colour is gorgeous, be quite light handed with the application because they are very pigmented but the effect on the skin is STUNNING!

Finally I was in town recently and escaped from a freak downpour of rain into the nearby Lush shop. Surprise surprise I didn’t come away empty handed. I actually bought 2 items but the one I feel like deserves a special mention is the No Drought Dry Shampoo. It works super well and you get plenty product for your money. I find with a lot of spray on dry shampoos the product will run out after a very short amount of time and you’ll just be left with a strange liquid coming out of it that just makes your hair look WORSE! The best thing about this product though has to be the smell. It smells of lemons and it’s so zingy and lovely, the perfect smell for a dry shampoo that’s meant to make you seem fresher than you probably are!

Well that’s everything I’ve bought recently I hope you enjoyed reading 🙂

Until next time,

J x

Leave a Reply

