GRWM: Bouncy Curls and Light/Bright Makeup

Helloo, so this past weekend I celebrated m aunt’s 50th and one of my friend’s 21st birthdays. There was plenty of alcohol and FOOD (diet was momentarily on pause). So anyway, I really liked my hair/makeup that I wore to my friend’s 21st birthday party so I thought I’d show you and do a little run through of what I used etc 🙂

bouncy curls hairstyle

Here it is! So I went for kinda of voluminous curls and light shades around my eyes with winged eyeliner (it’s my fave!)

Hair

So I used my Babyliss Pro (type F40b) Curling Wand CLICK HERE (it looks like it’s on sale at the moment too so would be a good time to buy!). Not going to lie, this is the only curling wand I own, I’m a student so I can’t afford everything I’d like but I think it’s a pretty good one. When I first used it (yeearss ago) back when the curling wand trend was just starting and I had been used to the ones you clip your hair into and roll up, I wasn’t such a big fan of it. Now, having used it for years and also having had a bad experience with the old kind of curlers, I love it!

So I sprayed my hair with a bit of Tresemme Protect Heat Defence Styling Spray and began to curl AWAY from my face. My tip is to always curl away from your face, I think it looks miles better and frames your face better. I generally take quite large chunks of hair when I’m curling it this way, that’s how to get the larger ringlets when you’re done. I don’t really measure the amount of hair I take but I’d say only about ten pieces overall (obviously this varies from hair type to hair type).

The piece of hair right at the front on my right side (the side my parting sweeps to) I take a smaller section and curl it backwards on the top of my head and hold it for a few seconds only. I wrap my hair around the wand right to the top but it falls slightly to where it’s sitting in the picture. Afterwards just a spritz of hairspray and I tend to run my hands through it to make it less organised as well!

Makeup

I decided, because it was a summer evening and I was wearing a long maxi skirt, to go for a bright kind of dewy makeup look. I started by applying my NARS sheer glow foundation in Mont Blanc (of course) (CLICK HERE) and blended it out. I love the coverage this foundation gives me without looking cakey, it’s for sure a holy grail item for me! I then applied some of my Collection Lasting Perfection concealer (CLICK HERE) under my eyes and on a few spots I’ve had on my forehead recently (sigh). I then applied a light dusting of my Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Translucent (CLICK HERE) I’m sure you’ve  all heard loads about this powder before but it’s great and I don’t see a reason to pay out for a high end brand when this powder does the job just fine for me 🙂

On my eyes I decided to get out my old MAC palette. I used Charcoal Brown in my crease just to give it a little bit of definition without it being a dramatic look at all, and then I applied Naked Lunch across my lid. I used a little bit of Nylon in my inner corners (it’s quite an intense shimmer so I was light handed with it). For me I really wanted to use light shades, and I’ve been loving doing that recently because I find that it opens up my eyes and enhances them better than when I apply heavy, dark shades. I then applied a thin line of liquid eyeliner on my lid as I love the elongating effect of a wing on me! Here’s a picture that better shows my eye makeup (even if it is a bit cringe).

Winged eyeliner natural makeup

Obviously it’s not perfect, I’m not a pro or anything, but I quite liked the final result. On my eyebrows I filled them in with MAC Omega eyeshadow first and then used a little bit of my Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade in Taupe (CLICK HERE) to sharpen up the ends.

I bronzed my face a tiny bit (not that you can see it!) with NARS Laguna Bronzer (CLICK HERE), another product I absolutely LOVE from Nars and then used my Sleek Solstice Highlighting palette which I’ve spoken about quite a few times on this blog now! In the above picture I hadn’t applied anything to my lips yet, but i did decide to go for MAC Velvet Teddy, which I think is meant to be a kind of browny nude but because I’m so pale it comes up quite dark on me!

Here’s another picture of the final look (feat a glorious glass of prosecco).

party makeup look

I hope you enjoyed reading this and maybe found it interesting if you’re looking for hair/makeup inspiration for something this summer 🙂 I felt pretty confident with this look and it didn’t feel like too much or too little.

Until next time,

J x

 

8 thoughts on “GRWM: Bouncy Curls and Light/Bright Makeup

Leave a Reply

