Do Something Creative Every Day

Today I’m going to write a post that I’ve been wanting to write for a while but life things have been getting in the way. This past weekend I moved into my new flat and I’m SO EXCITED ABOUT IT! I won’t actually be living there until I go back for university in September but I’m thrilled that my stuff is all moved in and the way the place is looking. That has taken up a lot of my time recently but now I’m back and ready to write something!

If you’re a creative person like me then you’ve probably, at some point, had a bit of a blip where basically no creative stuff has been happening. I’ve been there and it’s the worst feeling. To feel stagnated and like you’re not making any progress towards the things you’re passionate about sucks. Recently the phrase “do something creative every day” popped into my head and I don’t think I’ve broken it since!

I study English Literature at university and my passion is writing in all its many forms (blogging being one of them), so I have a list of things that I class as creative things and I try my best to do one of them every single day. It doesn’t necessarily have to take much time if I’m super busy but it makes me feel a lot happier and more fulfilled to know that I’m contributing a little something to the things I love every day.

For me these creative things include writing short stories, blogging, recording and video editing, reading (not directly creating but is a massive part of the process), editing things I’ve already written and also watching acclaimed films and TV shows (that doesn’t mean spending 8 hours in front of Pretty Little Liars on Netflix).

I started making a concerted effort to do more of these things about 2 months ago and since then I feel like I’ve achieved quite a lot, probably more than I’ve achieved in the past year actually! Most importantly for me though it just makes me feel a bit better about myself and my life! These are the things that I love to do but in a society that leaves you so exhausted at the end of the day that all you want to do is watch Love Island and go to sleep and in a society full of instant gratification and shorter, faster forms of media (Youtube videos, Vine, Snapchat stories) that has trained our minds to have shorter and shorter attention spans it becomes almost impossible to do these things! At least it became that way for me and now I feel like I’m taking a small step towards having more balance and more control over the things I spend my time on.

I just thought I’d share this little piece of my brain with you today in case anybody else relates or is currently in a bit of a creative rut! Make small steps towards the things you want to achieve and you’ll probably be surprised with the progress you make!

Until next time,

J x

2 thoughts on “Do Something Creative Every Day

Leave a Reply

