Lifestyle · Music

TRNSMT Festival

Hey! So in my last post I mentioned that I’d been to a festival recently. I was in Glasgow from the 7th-9th of July for TRNSMT festival with some of my friends! It was really exciting and we all had an amazing time so I thought I’d do a post about it talking about some of my highlights!

We arrived by bus on the first day and rushed back to my friends flat to get ready. When we finally set off for the festival which was at Glasgow Green we were all feeling quite tipsy. We arrived in time for an amazing performance by London Grammar. I think they were probably one of my favourite acts of the weekend. Hannah Reid’s voice is just amazing.

London Grammar amazing performance at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
So here’s a very far away picture of London Grammar if anybody is interested.

Later on that evening we saw the headline act for that day which was only RADIOHEAD! I was so excited to see them and their performance didn’t disappoint. They played a range of songs from their many many albums including 15 Step and Daydreaming (two of my favourites). They didn’t play Creep though which a lot of people seemed pissed about.

Radiohead vibrant and energetic set at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
The following day, I’ll admit, I was slightly hungover. Not too hungover to get up and start drinking again by 11am (feel a bit sick thinking about that). Day 2 was by FAR my favourite day. The weather was amazing and to me it had the best line up! We arrived at the park in time for Stormzy’s performance, which we had all been looking forward to. We managed to get right down the front for it and there were a few mosh pits so the energy was insane. Stormzy had great stage presence and just seemed genuinely thrilled to be there which always makes a performance 10x better.

Young people dancing and celebrating in the crowds at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
Young people chanting and enjoying music at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
Stormzy lively performance at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
Saturday was just jam packed full of amazing acts and the next one we saw was The Kooks. I’ve loved The Kooks since I was a child but I never thought I’d see them live so this was a real treat. They played all the hits and one of my personal favourites Seaside. There was just good vibes al round when they were on stage, it was nostalgic in the best way.

After The Kooks George Ezra was on and as much as I like some of George Ezra’s songs we were all ravenous by this point so we made our way to the nearest burger van and got some food. I swear to god that burger I had was the best burger ever, the fact that I’d been drinking since morning definitely had nothing to do with it. A burger, cheesy chips and a pint of cider seemed like the perfect meal for that day…healthy too…

Later on one of my favourite bands ever Catfish and the Bottlemen came on stage. People were throwing blow up crocodiles around and it seemed like everybody there knew all the lyrics. It was amazing, every time they started playing the next song i was excited about what it was going to be! Unfortunately the BBC highlights show didn’t capture this, I tried to watch it when I got home and it cut out halfway through one of their songs? Rude.

Kasabian were the headliners for Saturday night and the whole crowd went mental. It was the perfect end to the night and Sergio Pizzorno was jumping off and on the stage and running along the front of the crowd, everyone loved it. If their hit songs weren’t enough to have the crowd going their stage presence definitely was.

blue smoke flares at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
On the final day it rained all day so it was out with the clear poncho things.

young people preparing for the rain with waterproof ponchos for TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
We all still had an amazing day though and because it was the last day everyone just went for it (and by that I mean drank way too much). It was my friend’s 21st birthday so we were all over excited.

We joked that Sunday was Scottish day because the headliners were Biffy Clyro and other acts included Twin Atlantic and Lewis Capaldi. The 1975 were a highlight for me that day, however, having never seen them live before I was kind of surprised by their image, I was expecting them to look more like a pop band than they did. We also enjoyed seeing Two Door Cinema Club and spent a bit of time at the Smirnoff House to listen to something a bit different.

There are a host of terrible pictures I could show you of everybody drenched and clutching bottles of echo falls but to preserve the dignity of myself and my friends I won’t. So here’s a nice one from before we went out instead.

young people at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow
The drinks were expensive, the weather was unpredictable but the atmosphere was brilliant. That’s all I’d expect from a festival in Scotland!

Until next time,

J x

One thought on “TRNSMT Festival

Leave a Reply

