Muddy welly boots in Scottish Festival

Life Update – Belladrum Festival and Turning 21

The chances are, unless you’re from the Highlands of Scotland, you have no idea what Belladrum Festival is. Oh also unless you’re my cousin who travelled all the way from Cornwall for it.

The best way I can describe it is a local festival. There’s music, food, comedy, films, camping and…alcohol. When I was younger I knew Belladrum as a place where underage people go to get drunk for a few days in the summer. This year though my mum bought us tickets as the weekend fell over my 21st birthday. She spent a lot of money on tickets for the family, flights from Cornwall for my cousin and tents and shower passes for everyone. It really meant a lot to me that she organised all that for me, even if it did rain the whole weekend.

Camping in a four person tent in Scotland

Camping in Scotland in a four person tent

This was the tent situation. I’m not going to lie, I’m not the most outdoorsy person and I think after this weekend of camping my cousin Ellie and I both decided that camping isn’t really for us. We probably prefer a city break in a hotel (or more realistically a Holiday Inn Express). It was certainly an experience though!

On the first night the sun did actually come out for a while and we went and listened to some music. We saw some local bands and also some random men singing in Welsh in one of the pub/huts.

Belladrum Festival in Scotland

This was the entrance to the main venue from our camping area. I thought it looked quite cute, especially before the whole place turned to sludge.

Festival in Scotland

Some of the acts that played were Franz Ferdinand, Twin Atlantic, Sister Sledge, KT Tunstall and Birdy.

A blurry gif of local celebrities Twin Atlantic performing No Sleep No Sleep Spotify (if you do click this link be prepared for an intense scottish accent that everyone at the concert mimicked despite not actually sounding like that).

By day three the place looked less like a cute, sunny festival with fairy lights everywhere and more like… well this

Muddy welly boots in Scottish Festival

This was me on my way back from the portaloo toilets one morning. Trying to get up a hill that’s essentially a mud slide has its challenges.

After sharing a box of wine with Ellie, followed by not nearly enough food and some straight vodka just before I turned 21 it’s safe to say the following morning wasn’t much fun for me.

I tried and failed to keep a bacon roll down and wanted a proper bed more than I can even express.

To anyone who has never been to a festival in Scotland (I’m assuming most of you) here’s a little taster of what you can expect:

Mel Gibson, Braveheart at Belladrum Festival Scotland

Obviously that’s a bit of a joke but it is a legit picture from the festival.

So that’s what I’ve been up to recently, I’m currently off (having taken flexi time off work) recovering from the experience and I have a new found appreciation for my bed (as if I could love bed anymore).

Until next time,

J x

3 thoughts on “Life Update – Belladrum Festival and Turning 21

Leave a Reply

